For His Glory

Standard

“Be exalted, O God, above the heavens!
    Let your glory be over all the earth!” Psalm 108:5

For His Glory.

I have been a VBS volunteer since the summer after I first accepted Jesus at the age of  17. Long before I had aspirations of being a full time educator. I have often called it “my 2nd Christmas week.” Some of my earliest church memories are of eating grape sno cones and reciting my books of the Bible in the parking lot of Eastern Heights Baptist Church.

I believe in the power of VBS and the influence it can have on our children in the church. I know the solid foundations of Truth that they will be presented, and how those simple Truths of Jesus can carry on way into their adult life. I will always rearrange my schedule or have our vacations purposefully scheduled on non VBS weeks so that I can be a part of such a significant week.

Each VBS I have been a part of has a theme, usually provided by Lifeway. In additon to these themes about beaches, sports, travels, amusement parks, submarines, or galaxies, I have also had a theme that runs through my heart during the week. Each year a different truth revived in my own heart and relationship with Jesus.

I have served in many different capacities over the years. Missions teacher, Bible study teacher, rotational leader, teen helper, decision counselor, assistant director, and elementary director.

This  year the Truth my heart keeps going back to is “For His Glory.”

Can I be really honest with you?

Sometimes doing things only “For His Glory,” can be draining. There were days in this summer journey to get to VBS that were straight up hard. There were things said in and out of love that hurt. There were many nights of long work, and days of tasks. There were even times in my own human sinful nature I thought, “Why bother?” As in any role where you are serving others, there are moments that are thankless. There are things you and your AMAZING friends do, that others will probably never notice. There are times where people only seem to notice what you do wrong, and are quick to give credit to someone else, for what you did right.

That is when I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOO thankful for God’s grace and His gentle reminding of these Truths in my life.

  • “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” Colossians 3:17
  • “Do all things without grumbling or disputing, 15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16 holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain” Phil. 2:14-16
  • “For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant[a] of Christ.” Gal. 1:10
  • “The Lord is my strength and my shield;in him my heart trusts, and I am helped;

    my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.”- Psalm 28:7

    Only by His grace, mercy, and strength in my life, am I able to to this for His glory.

    You see, all of those minor things, words, and situations I mentioned above, the only reason these things even start to bother me, is because I am focused on my own glory. Just like Peter, when my eyes aren’t on Jesus, I can start to sink.

    I am so thankful that I serve a God who cares enough to redirect my focus on Him, when I start to sink in the weight of doing things in my own strength, or for my own glory.

    If God did not keep reminding me of this, it would have been really easy to focus on the negative things or those previously mentioned moments.

    Instead, when I resign myself to the idea that it is all “For His Glory,” my eyes are opened to so many blessings and moments God has allowed me to experience in the past couple weeks.

    I have been able to see our church come together and serve unselfishly. I have witnessed children hear the truths of Jesus for the first time. I have watched people get out of their comfort zone to use their talents for God.  I have been able to counsel two precious girls who accepted Jesus. I marveled at beautiful ballerinas and awesome percussionists. I have been blessed by so many wonderful elementary crew leaders who loved and served our kids well. I have watched new families walk into our church and get connected because of a friend and their boldness. I have watched ideas fail miserably, and other things be an amazing success.

    So whether it was organizing MAX camp information, working with actors who sometimes forgot their lines, helping crew leaders manage difficult children, scraping paint, taping decorations, putting the stage together, managing leaders, getting attendance, giving band-aids, giving hi fives, making leader treats, making connections, counseling others about their salvation, listening, or running about, I have decided to do it “For His Glory.”

    My goal in life is to Love God, Love others, and make Him known in a World that desperately needs Him.  Each season of life, each job, and each day, the way I do that may look differently.

    As I have mentioned on the blog, June was rough for our family.  As July was approaching with commitments of Day Camp, MAX Camp, and VBS, a friend that cares about me asked, ” Do you think you should still do all of these things?”

    I told her that I had made a commitment a while ago, and God knew where my heart would be during this time. I also said I wanted to be supportive of my friends that had asked me to help.

    “Would they do the same for you, if they were in your shoes?” she asked.  I told her that I really thought they would, because I am part of an awesome church family. I also thought later on that even if they wouldn’t, it doesn’t matter.

    A long time ago, when I decided to follow Jesus, that meant that I decided to trust Him with my life. He takes care of me, even when circumstances can complicate my life. I know that I can depend on His Strength, and He will lead me through whatever comes.

    My husband and I have tried to model our life and family in a way that brings Glory to God. Our desire is to serve God and make Him known to others. In the 15 short days we have had in July so far, He has provided countless opportunities for us to practice this.

    Don’t get me wrong, we are tired and very excited to go on vacation tomorrow, but we are thankful.

    I am so glad that I am allowed to live my life, “For his Glory,”

    “And one called to another and said: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory!”-Isaiah 6:3
    With Joy,

    Mrs. Kim

Leave a Reply

