July Bucket List

Standard

Teach us to number our days,
    that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” -Psalm 90:12

We have had a lot of life changes recently, and it has made me look at my own life and take stock. Am I living each day to the fullest? Am I worrying about things beyond my control? Am I making time for things that matter? Am I loving people as well as I could? Am I doing all I can for the kingdom of God? Am I resting the way I should? What kind of legacy will I leave one day?

If you are like me, you could wonder about these things all day. Where does that leave me? No further than I was before.  Nowhere in the Bible does Jesus say to worry and wonder.

He calls us to rest. – “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

He calls us not to worry:Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” Phil. 4:6-7

He calls us to life live in the fullness of His glory: “May have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, 19 and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.” Ephesians 3:18-19

These truths were great reminders to me in this current season of life. It also inspired me to bring back something I hadn’t done in a few years, the bucket list. I had a “maximizing your singleness bucket list.” This time, I am taking a few smaller chunks. I am starting a monthly bucket list.  My hope is to live each day more fully with these adventures, and share them.

July will be just as busy in the McCarty house. We have Day camp Mondays, MAX camp, VBS, and our family vacation.  This month’s list has a lot of self-care and things to help rest.

July Bucket list:

  1. Read at least 3 non school books
  2.  Hike at least 3 different places with Annie
  3. Attend Zumba and Pound class at least 1 time each
  4. Finish the Romans plan in She Reads Truth
  5. Organize the drawers and closets we haven’t finished
  6. Start our front yard landscaping
  7. Go to Ikea, 5 below, and the Magnolia market for house/school stuff.
  8. Have a pool day.
  9. Spend at least 2 hours a week for self-care( face masks, pedicures, reading, silence, whatever)
  10. Go to the drive in
  11. Watch a baseball game
  12.  Play disc golf at least once.
  13. Write at least once a week
  14. Try 2 new food places
  15.  Visit the Chihuly exhibit
  16.  Get sunrise pictures

Well, this list may not be as impressive as some earlier drafts, but I feel for this busy month it is a start.

What are some things you want  to accomplish in July? Any cool July thing I should add to the list?

Have a great July friends. Enjoy today and rest in the promises of God.

“You make known to me the path of life;
    in your presence there is fullness of joy;
    at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” -Psalm 16:11

 

With Joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

