appreciate them…

Standard

Happy Monday blog friends!

For those of you who don’t know,it is teacher appreciation week. Seeing posts,pictures,and whatnot had me thinking about my own journey into education. I have been blessed with great role models and educators.

In Pre-K there was Mrs. Hudson, she helped a scared little girl learn to love school. She taught us to imagine. In Kindergarten, there was Mrs. Middleton (Price now), who I thought was the most glamorous lady ever. She encouraged my reading skills and let me read to our class. I wanted to be just like her!
1st and 2nd grade, Mrs. Burnes and Mrs. Fargo. I loved both of them! They made learning so fun. They helped me to learn to serve others. They are great role models.
4th grade there was Mrs. Rhyne and the Purple Cows, ( I use it in my class now!). She was caring and inventive.
Mr. Kinsman in 5th grade. When I think about what I aspire to be as an educator, he is it. He was kind, enaging,and relevant. He made science interactive, reading novels more fun than movies,and the writing. He instilled a love of writing in me that’s still there. He was the best.
Middle school had Mrs. Arnett and Mr. Wicks. You all made History come alive and Algebra make sense. You all encouraged and believed in me.
There are so many other teachers, I could include in this, but the post would last forever!
I appreciate your investment in my life.
Reminding myself of these great educators, has reminded me of the great responsibility we carry.

Our words,helpful or hurtful, can stay with these students.

The way we feel about Math,Science,or Reading, will influence them.

We see them more than their parents some days.

In the span of 5 minutes we can be judge,banker, nurse, secretary, law enforcement,counselor,mom, and fixer.

Our job is not an 8 to 3,summers off kind of deal. It is a day in day out commitment to improving the life of a child. We don’t just teach then to multiply, read, or conduct an experiment. We teach them to respect others, to have courage, and be responsible.
We cry with them. We celebrate with them. We sometimes want it more for them than they do.
Our husbands and wives see our bank accounts, hearts, and brains emptied because they know we may be the only ones who cares.

It is my firm belief that teaching is a calling in my life. Without the grace of God, I don’t know how I’d make it.

It’s joy. It’s rewarding. It’s draining. It’s frustrating.
It’s worth it.

Though states may cut budgets, kids may fail tests, and students may never change, it’s worth it.

It’s an investment in the future. It is influence that can stretch generations.

So for this teacher appreciation week, I charge you to find those teachers in your life. Encourage them. Buy them a sonic drink.

I am grateful for those names I mentioned earlier! They have impacted my life the most wonderful way.

Fellow teachers, this is my prayer for you.
“When she (or he) speaks, they speak with wisdom and the teaching of kindness is on her tounge.” Proverbs 31:26.
I pray God will encourage you and work through you. That He will be you comfort,strength,and joy. I pray He will use you to impact your students. I pray He will remind you even in the most tiring times who you are in Him and who you are to your students.

I appreciate you.

With Joy,

Mrs. Kim

 

Leave a Reply

