4 years later…

Standard

Wow.

4 years have gone by since I started writing this blog.

Even through the times I was absent from writing, I still felt it’s presence.

I remember starting this blog. I was single. I had a great job, ministry involvement, my own apartment, and lots of friends. I felt like even though I was living a great life, there was a part to me that wasn’t as fulfilled. That’s when I got the idea to making a single-life bucket list, to teach my self to live more, and not just wait around for Mr. Right. I also began to see how God was working in my life through events and people around me. I wanted to capture it. That’s why I started the blog.

I wanted people like me to have a voice, an encouragement. Over the past 4 years, it it has encouraged me more times than I can count.

I thought today I would share some moments, lessons, and random ramblings that have been my favorite over the past 4 years. I am excited to see these spiritual markers in my life and how God has been at work this whole time.

 

The 4 best things that have happened to me in the past 4 years:

4. Refocusing my vision for ministry Four years ago, I had a great job, and I was looking forward to a time when I go in to full-time vocational ministry. Since that time, God has really shown me some things. I have been a full-time teacher for almost 4 years now, 3 of those years serving in a low-income, high ELL area. Ministry to me now is less of a “future calling,” and more of a present state of mind. Everyday, I feel like I am on mission for Jesus. He has used me in so many ways with co-workers, students, parents, and friends. I am humbled to go to work everyday and minister to children. I do teach them Math, Reading, Science, and Social Studies, but I pray my influence in their lives goes far beyond that.

3.  Losing Control-I felt that the past four years have been years I have learned to surrender. Years where I let go of expectations, control of situations, and my own plans for my life. I have stopped worrying so much about micromanaging areas of my life, and learned to trust God. His plans. His Purpose.

2.Going Abroad- I had the opportunity to go to the Middle East, and it changed my life for the good. I loved the people, the culture, and seeing how God is at work in the lives of those people half a world away. I have such compassion for these people now, I feel like they are my family. I thank God all the time for the ability to serve Him in that way. I often look back on those days with so much JOY and love for my Savior.

1. My Husband-I realize I may have readers from my single days, who don’t even know my husband. He is an amazing person, and a picture of God’s grace in my life. I couldn’t imagine life without Him now, or how anyone else in this world could get me besides him. He is smart, driven, talented, kind, caring, and has a heart to see our generation changed for Jesus. He is my continual answered prayer. I could go on and on and on, but I’ll digress.

 

4 things that God has taught me:

  1. To place my confidence in Him.
  2. To have a broken heart for the things that break His heart.
  3. To trust Him with my future.
  4. To know that my only JOY in life comes from Him. He is the GIVER of great things.

4 Favorite Blog Posts:

4. confident- February 1, 2016

3. the great teacher- September 13, 2013

2. days like these, March 29,2012

1.Meet me where I am at- February 23,2012

 

4 Favorite things I marked off my bucket list:

4. Going to the movies alone- I love it now! It’s my favorite

3. Blind Date- I had two unsuccessful ones, but the 3rd time was a charm for me!

2. Leaving the country- see above

  1. Starting Zumba- Still love it. I go 2-3 times a week. It makes me happy.

 

As I said earlier, this is not a deep theological post. I wanted to remember all of these great things that have happened in my life, since I decided to put it out there.

I will leave you with a verse that I feel has been my life the past for years.

“Strength and dignity are her clothing,
    and she laughs at the time to come.” Proverbs 31:25

What could you start today that God will use to transform you? Thank you Jesus for all these great things you give.

Amen.

With Joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

