do work.

Standard

I know.

I make you all a lot of empty promises. I say I am going to get back on the blogging bandwagon, then, “BOOM,” out of no where, I fall right back off.

Well, I am trying again. No promises this time. I felt the need in my heart to get back to this. Writing has always been a passion of mine. It’s been nearly 4 years since I have started this blog. Time and time again, I have seen the faithfulness of God play out through each word I type.

Writing is where I feel at home. It’s how I express myself. It lets the thoughtful introvert side of me that is always pushed out by the fun extroverted side of me, come through.

I’m back. Again.

In my 3rd grade classroom, there has been a theme this week. I have noticed that so many of them are becoming such AMAZING, kids, with great hearts. It’s humbling to have the privilege of serving them. Just humbling.

Today we celebrated our Student of the Month at our “Incredible Indian,” ceremony. I chose a girl who serves others well. She is kind, loving, and SUPER-encouraging.  As I picked her, I observed some things.

1. Every student in my class genuinely cheered for her and they seemed just as excited as if they were the winner.

2. She seemed honestly shocked and humbled. In 5 years of giving awards, she is the first one that ever cried tears of joy!

As we came back to class, she asked me, “Mrs. McCarty, why did you pick me?” I kind of went back over the things I had said about her. She said, “Me? Really? I did all those things?”

I then I asked my class how many of them felt special because of something she had done for them, everyone raised their hands.

See, this girl never set out to gain recognition. She never wanted to be important or the best.

Every single thing she does as an 8 year old is filtered through one thing.

Jesus.

Every single card I get. “Jesus loves you.”

Every single compliement she gives. “God thinks you are special.”

Every single day Jesus shines through this little girl.

When I think of her heart, I think of this verse.

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.”

Colossians 3:23-24 ESV

When I think of myself, I really want to think of this verse.

Real talk: that’s not always the case.

Sometimes when I go the extra mile, it’s not always for Jesus. It’s for people. My intentions aren’t always true. Sometimes I even can get a little frustrated or angry when work goes unnoticed.

When those thoughts come creeping in my head, Jesus reminds me of a few things.

A) My life is not my own. When I accepted Jesus at the age of 17 I was “crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” – Galatians 2:20(NLT)

B) My job is not to impress other people. “For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10

C) My desire should be to make Him known, not myself. “That’s why my cup is running over. This is the assigned moment for him to move into the center, while I slip off to the sidelines.” John 3:30 ( Message)

He also reminded me that He sees me. He knows my struggles. He knows my trials, triumphs and my heart. He has been with me through the brightest and darkest of days.

He has been there.

 “Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus,[a] who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant,[b] being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.” Philipians 2:5-8 (ESV)

As far as I am concerned, He is the only one to be working for.

Jesus sees you too. He knows your heart and struggle. Talk to Him. Follow Him. Absorb His word. Take it in today.

With Joy,

Mrs. Kim

 

 

Leave a Reply

