It’s your choice…

Standard

“It’s your choice.”

In second grade, we say that a lot.  Like, “It’s your choice. Stop talking or turn your card.”  “If you can’t get along, don’t play together, it’s your choice.” “We can line up quietly, or we can wait, it’s your choice.”

Life is full of choices. Sometimes we make good choices, and sometimes we don’t. Sometimes we think before we act and make a calculated decisions, and sometimes we act before we think.

Each day is full of these kind of split second choices

. I have to be real honest with you all. I don’t always make the best choices. Some days, I choose 30 minutes more sleep and sacrifice prep time for the day. Some days, I choose dessert and don’t work out. Some days, I act out of emotion before thinking. Some days, I say hurtful things when  know I should be kind.

To be more honest, I have to tell you something I do know about these bad choices. As believers, each time we know the right choice and disobey it, it’s sin. Yuck! I don’t like sinning. I don’t like indulging those selfish ways. I am sure most of you don’t either.

We all have some better choices to make. I don’t know about you, but I need some help it making the right choices. Thankfully, that is where Jesus comes in.

When we are offended, we can choose to hold a grudge, or choose to forgive like Jesus forgave us. (Colossians 3:13)

When circumstances have us feeling down, we can choose to be bitter, or we can be in God’s will and choose joy, (1 Thes. 5:16-18)

When someone attacks us, we can fight back, or we can choose to be still and let God fight for us. ( Exodus 14:14)

When we are lonely, we can choose to be all depressed about it, or we can choose to find comfort in the One that sticks closer to us than a brother. (Proverbs 18:24)

We can choose to fit in with the world, or we can choose to be transformed by our relationship with God ( Romans 12:1-2)

We can choose words that hurt, or we can use our words to love and build one another up. (Ephesians 4:29)

 

I know there are SO many choices out there in the world, but my hope and prayer is that you choose to live a life that honors God and other people. I know this world is a tough places, and sometimes it can knock you to your knees. The thing about it though, is that is also full of beautiful and wonderful things. The key is to look for those things and focus on those, as we make some of the tougher choices in this life. 

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” -Phil. 4:8

With Joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

