Aside

Can you believe it!?

Today my blog is a year old! I am so excited. Probably almost as excited as a parent when their child reaches this milestone.

I know the past few months, poor old blog has been neglected(mostly because of the other baby I have called 2nd grade class.), but I am glad to be going a year strong!

A couple nights ago, I read through some of my archives and took a little trip down memory lane. Something unexpected happened. As I was reading, I found myself getting teary-eyed. It was SO awesome to see the past year of my life in the rear view. I saw the thread of God’s amazing love and faithfulness sewn through out each page.

When I started this blog a year ago, I wanted to give a voice to other young adults in my season of life. To encourage other and help them learn to live life to the fullest. When I started, I can tell you,I wasn’t living life to the fullest.

Now, I can say, most days I am. I am so humbled that God is speaking through me and revealing these awesome truths. I never imagined how much of an impact my writing project would make on my own life and walk with God.  Looking back, it is so cool to see how God was working and preparing me for ” such a time as this.”

I thought I would share 5 things I will take away from my first year of blogging. (They are in no order of importance.)

1. God works in and through EVERYTHING: Let me tell ya, until I started writing, I had no idea of how many things God used to teach truth in my life. Among other things He used a lady named Joy, a piano recital, a kickball game, a boy who wanted some boots, and most famously a boy who thought he was a cat. Through each of these stories and more, God taught me some precious Truths. I will probably be telling my Grandchildren about taking off my necklace to get a boy out of a classroom walking like a cat.

2. Each day is crammed with Joy. Is every day great? Goodness no! Are there great things in each day? Absolutely yes. Writing and logging the KQOTD’s have helped me to remember that even when I am at my wit’s end working with kids, they are still precious a lovable. My darkest days have been made a lot brighter by remembering to look for the joy.

3. God is NEVER silent. Even when we may think He is, he is always in relationship with us, and working in us in ways we can’t even imagine.

4. I am a lot braver than I ever thought I was. Putting my failures in print. Hard. Admitting I don’t have it all together. Going to the movies alone. Hardest. Writing and working to meet my bucket list goals has made me more brave! I love taking risks now.

5. Everyone has a voice and a story. I am a 27 year old teacher that learns more about God through daily experience. I am awkward and get in some interesting situations. God uses the story of my life to reveal Himself. If he can use me, He can use you too!

I could go on and on,  I gotta save something for the 2nd year anniversary!:)

I do have a surprise though! It has to do with the bucket list!

I have accomplished 8 things on the list this year! Only 13 more to go….or how about 16. I have decided to add 3 things to the list. They are…

22.  Ride the world’s most daring wooden roller coaster!

23. Submit a column or essay to a magazine.

24. Teach someone to read.

I am so excited about all of the people that have read, commented, and shared this blog. You have let me bear my heart and soul to you and I am thankful for each one of you.

Phil 1:3-9 is my prayer for you all!:)

Here’s to another year!! May it be the best yet!:)

With Joy,

Miss Kim

happy blog-aversary!

Leave a Reply

