Aside

Did y’all know this is almost my ONE year anniversary of writing this blog! I can’t believe it!:) Time flies by faster and faster it seems.

I haven’t written a lot lately because honestly, I haven’t felt a lot of inspiration. It seemed like there were months in this journey where God was revealing all kinds of new things. Looking back on that time is really special, and I am so glad I have those memories.

Lately, I have felt like things are just kind of sitting still. It’s like Monday-Friday, I go to work, come home, workout, Tuesdays/Wednesdays head up to the church, then go home. Saturday and Sunday happen, and then BAM! the week starts again.

I was talking to a friend earlier today ( well, more like venting. yes, there was a lot of venting.), and she asked me if I had been writing lately. I told her that I just haven’t felt that inspired, that God wasn’t speaking as loudly and clearly into my heart lately.

Wouldn’t you know, right then and there He spoke.

I was reminded of earlier this week when my kids were taking these Math mid-year benchmarks on the computer. It was all stuff we had gone over a lot, some of it they practiced everyday. They were used to counting change, knowing days on the calendar, adding two-digits, and measuring inches/centimeters. They had practiced this all mostly on paper, and now that it was on the computer, it was a little strange looking to them.

As I went by to those with hands raised, I saw that they were getting stuck on questions they know. They were getting hung up on the circumstances of the test looking different on the computer.

I re-read some of the questions for clarification, but I was not allowed to answer the problem or help find the solution. I taught the lessons. Now I just had to trust that what they were taught became what they know and that what they know can overcome the circumstance (of the way the test looked.)

I started thinking about how that testing situation related to my own life. Lately, there has been all kinds of stuff coming up to the surface. Questions and decisions that have come up. I keep waiting for this awesome audible voice of God saying, “Kim do this, go this way,” but instead I hear silence.

Is it really silence though? Throughout my relationship with God He has taught me many lessons, He has walked with me and soared with me at my highest of highs and carried me through my lowest of lows. I wonder this. Maybe His silence (well my perception of his silence), is just His way of working through me to see if I can apply those lessons I learned to new and unpredictable circumstances. Could I still trust and obey, even in the quiet times when it felt that God was just quietly waiting for me to finish the test?

Once I thought about this ( well, recognized that God was revealing this truth to me), I was able to think about some of the things going on in my life and remember how God had already worked through those situations and how I can set my hope for the future in His promises.

Even when I feel He is silent, He is still right there working things together for the good. What’s even better is that, even if I can’t feel/hear His voice, I will ALWAYS have an open book option ( you know, with the bible).

God is so good, and His promises are TRUE!

I noticed that after my children finished their benchmarks and saw their awesome (yes I have smart kids, and yes you may be jealous.) scores, their confidence soared. This also made my heart soar knowing that those lessons I taught were not in vain.

When we trust in God, even in those silent, quiet times, we WILL see His will prevail and His promises come to fruition. That trust builds confidence that is built on the solid rock of Jesus Christ.

I am not sure if this will even resonate with you all tonight, but I want you to know something.

The teacher is always the most quiet during the test. Maybe you feel like God is silent right now, but know this. God may seem quiet during these tests in our lives, but testing and trials produce faith and faith perseverance and perseverance makes us more mature and complete.

Who doesn’t want to be mature and complete, lacking nothing?

God is always working my friends. Even when we can’t see. I needed to be reminded of that. Thank you God for that You allow these trials and tests to grow us into the servants You desire us to be.

“There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.” Phil. 1:6 (MSG)

With Joy,

Miss Kim

quiet please?

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

