baggage claim.

Standard

The end to a 3 day weekend is quickly coming to a close. It has been a great weekend full of time with family, friends, road trips, games, just dance, and lots of laughter. It was also bittersweet, as we sent Laura off to her two month training before she goes back overseas. It was a very full long weekend, and I am tired. 

I had something on my mind though, so I wanted to get out a few ramblings before going to bed. 

Last week at school, I was a little frazzled. It seemed like every time I turned around their was a behavior problem, or someone got upset, or something broke. I was getting stressed out and not finding a lot of joy in my job to be honest. 

I was eating lunch with one of my friends at school who is a janitor. She was having kind of a bad day too. She had been given a bad report from one of the people she works with. (Not from our building.:)) We were both kind of swapping stress stories,and talking about how we felt heavy with all the stress of the day. Then she said something that was a very simple statement, but still is with me 5 days later .

She said, “You know, I could get worked up and worried, but I just took that note and put it in my Bible and said, Jesus you know what is going to happen. I know you will work everything out for good.”

Later that day, she came back and told me He had. The situation had gotten better. It really stuck with me the rest of the day. I read my Bible and pray each day, but I started thinking…

How often do I stop and ask God to work through me in those mini-stress minutes? Those minutes when I am tempted to act in worry, anger, or frustration. I often don’t give things over to God and chose instead to carry my own heavy baggage.  I felt convicted. In those moments, was I really in the will of God? 

In 1st Thessalonians , it says, “Always be joyful.  Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.” (5:16-18)

I decided to help my days go smoother, and to be a better witness for Christ, I needed to refocus my attitude. 

Towards the latter part of last week, I began to remember to stop, thank, and pray. I chose to see the joy in situations, as opposed to the stresses. I am not saying that each moment has been perfect, and I certainly have moments where I lose my cool, but I can really tell a difference when I refocus.

I am so thankful for that story I heard about giving the situation to God right then. Often times, I think I am doing that, but realize at the end of the day I am still carrying it around. 

God doesn’t intend for us to carry all that baggage. Jesus says that His yoke is easy and His burden is light. 

He wants us to check that heavy baggage at His feet. He wants us to continually seek Him.

As most of us start our 4 day week tomorrow, I challenge you to refocus your thinking and check your heavy baggage. 

Maybe you need to write down your fears, worries, and stresses. Maybe you need to take minutes in the day to stop and pray. Maybe you need to remember to thank God for His goodness. 

I pray for each one of you that as you start this week, you will release those stresses to God. He is is amazing and powerful and wants you to come to Him this week! May you all feel His strength as He empowers you through His Spirit.

“Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your soul.” Matthew  11:28-29 (NLT)

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.” Matthew 7:7-8(NLT)

 

With joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

