james 1:5-8

Standard

“If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking. But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. Such people should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Their loyalty is divided between God and the world, and they are unstable in everything they do.” -James 1:5-8

I sure am glad for this promise.

Sadly, I have to say that I have felt “tossed by the wind” before. Anytime I try to make a decision without consulting God first that usually happens. 

I start to think to myself “I know what’s best” and don’t even consider that God has something better.

Then, I get tossed around among my own emotions.

You see, when I make decisions before taking them to God first, I base them on my feelings.

I am a feeler, not too much of a critical thinker. If I am not careful, I can do and say things based on how I feel. That goes for decision making too.

The next day, my feelings have changed and that makes me want to change the choice I  made.  It can become an exhausting cycle.

I am so thankful for the promise that James brings in Verse 5. If we lack wisdom all we need to do is ask GOD! 

Yay! 🙂 

Our feelings about jobs, relationships, ministry opportunities, spending our money,and what do with our time can change from day to day, but God never changes! He is our Rock, Hope, and Confidence.

We need to ask Him for wisdom and then believe He will do it.

I needed to be reminded of that Truth today. I hope you all have a great start to your week. 

 

With Joy,

Miss Kim

 

Leave a Reply

