Aside

Well, friends. The busy-ness of October has got the best of me.

It’s already the 17th! I can’t believe it.

It’s also Fall Break. Let me tell you, 3:45 couldn’t have come soon enough today!

I love my kids, but you know I really think absence may make my tired teacher heart grow fonder!:)

It’s been a little bit eventful this week.

We will start with Monday night. I was leaving a dinner with some of my teacher friends and we were on the way to Wal-mart to get some super cool Halloween shirts ( I know, I am dressing by holidays. I am a professional educator after all.).

I was in the turn lane to go to Wal-mart. On the street my lights had been acting funny and the radio stopped, but I didn’t think much of it. Then all of the sudden, I was in the middle of the turn lane with a dead car. It wouldn’t start. I looked behind me and 2 of my teacher friends were right behind me. I don’t know why, but the 3 of us burst into laughter!

What possessed this? I have no idea. My friend that was driving behind me had a messed up front bumper, so she gently pushed my car with her car into safety. It was quite comical trying to get it up a small hill into the parking lot. I then was rescued by my family.  I felt so blessed and peaceful knowing that even though trouble came, God was in control.

I was very calm. We charged the battery and I drove to my mom’s house before going all the way to mine. I was in her house about 10 minutes and then I tried to start my car and it wouldn’t start. Ugggh. I didn’t laugh as much this time.

I drove my mom’s car home and then met her to take her to work Tuesday morning. I checked my car before we left, and it was running again! Yay!:) I drove to school carefully. No problems.

We decided to change a cable on the car after work, so I drove to Mom’s again. This time, the car stopped right in her driveway! Uggh again! We got it working, and I drove it to my house last night.  I was still amazed that it broke down in a driveway and not the middle of the street. Once again God was looking out for me.

This morning, I left for school about 6:30 ish to get some things done early. I got all the way back to Muskogee and my car died again, in a turn lane.

If you were on Country Club Road about 6:50 this morning, you probably saw us pushing my poor Ford Focus through the intersection.

This time, I wasn’t very cheerful, positive, or calm. I was upset!

God and I had to have a little talk before I made it to school this morning.

I was stuck at an intersection. I wanted to panic! This time, there wasn’t anyone behind me. I wasn’t in a safe location. I was stuck in my car in an intersection waiting for help to come through.

All of these doubts and worries and fears crept into my mind. I kept trying to pray them down, but the enemy was really getting me this time.

By the time my parents came to rescue me, I had already told myself I would be car-less, job less and homeless. I had believed the lie that I was worthless.

All because one little thing went wrong.

Yep, in the middle of my hissy fit, God and I had a talk.

You see, God is always constant. He was there the 1st 2 times my car broke down, and he was still there the 3 time. It was real easy for me to be thankful and peaceful when I was in a safe location or surrounded with friendly help, but it was a lot harder to trust in those 10 minutes I was our there alone, just waiting.

God reminded me that even though things happen, he still loves me madly and deeply. That he adores me and has a  PLAN and a HOPE and a FUTURE for me. That he will go down to the depths with me, and rise up in the heights.

You know what? I calmed down. I still got to work on time. My dad took my car and it will be fixed by tomorrow.  I have a home, family, friends, a car. God has provided for all of those needs. He has also brought peace to my soul once again.

You see, the first two times it broke down, we assumed it was a battery, but it was really the alternator. It took us 3 times to realize that. Funny, God sometimes has to let things happen to me more than once to let us know He has got this.

As I wrote down my ramblings, I thought of this set of verses. I really could post all of James chapter 1. It is really resonating with me tonight.

“Count it all joy, my brothers,[b] when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”- James 1:2-4

Thankful that God allows trials ( big and small) in our lives. He is trying to build us up as mature warriors of this faith. His joy is gonna be our strength!

 

With Joy,

Miss Kim

intersections

Leave a Reply

