like stars.

Standard

I will admit it. I had to do some behavior modification on myself this evening.

I was needing to get my house cleaned real bad, so I set a timer and offered myself the reward of Diet DP and Netflix  if I finished on time.

I finished 16 minutes early.

Now, not only do I have my DDP, but I also have a clean smelling house, folded laundry, put away dishes, and that peaceful feeling clutter freaks like me get after a good clean.

Plus, I had time to blog! Yay!

Today I tried a bit of a behavior modification on my students.  We started a “phrase of week” on a whim today. I noticed a lot of kids complaining and arguing,so I paraphrased a verse in Philippians and we started repeating, “Do everything without complaining or arguing.”

We repeated it a few times, and I can already see a bit of improvement.  Our word of the month is Obedience, so I feel getting this down would be helpful in our trek to becoming obedient.

I will admit, sometimes I can get like the kids in my class. I complain. I argue. I wrestle.  I fight. I make things tough. Sometimes I am not very obedient.

Sometimes, I don’t just act this way with people. Sometimes I act this way with God.  I know he doesn’t really like that.

I find myself although smiling and energetically doing things on the outside, but on the inside I am complaining and arguing in my heart.  Outside I am happy to do “one more thing,” but on the inside I complain “They never have to do it.”

I wonder if any of y’all can relate.

All of that complaining and arguing can lead to a heart of bitterness.  If we aren’t careful, we can become hardened, angry, selfish, and disobedient.

All that those things produce are negative attitudes that certainly aren’t refreshing to others or pleasing to God.

On the other hand, when we learn to do things for man and more importantly for God, with cheerful, obedient hearts,  we trade that bitterness for JOY!

Joy, is my favorite word! (Well, joy then hope.)

Join with me as we begin this workweek in memorizing this truth from God’s holy word.

“Do everything without grumbling or arguing,  so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.”Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky as you hold firmly to the word of life.” Phil. 2:14-16 (NIV)

See that? Not only does an attitude of gratitude produce joy and obedience, it also lets us shine. Shine like stars. Stars burning bright  with the Love of God!

Let’s go out and shine this week.

With joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

