a “class-y” kind of love.

Standard

It finally happened.

I fell in love.

WHAT! I know there are lots of questions running through your mind. “Who is he?” “What does he look like?” “Does he meet the loves Jesus/dimples/glasses requirement?”

Well, I hate to get anyone’s minds going, but there is no Mr. in the immediate future.

I have fallen in love with my class. 

Yes, the class that challenges me on a daily basis. The class who frustrates me at times. The class who I have worked many long hours over, cried over, and vented about.

I am not real sure when it happened, but last night I found myself just talking about all the cute and funny things that they have been doing. That is always the first sign that Miss Kim has fallen for someone. (Just ask my friends.)

I have been working through my frustration with my class to God for a few weeks now, and this morning as I realized how much I love each one of them, He revealed a new truth to me.

You see friends, about this time  last week, I was starting to wonder why God had steered my path in this different direction. This morning I came across some truth.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1 (NIV)

Heading out into a 5th grade classroom, was kind of an uncharted territory. There was no cut and dried path for plans, discipline, procedures. We kind of had to figure it all out with our respective groups. There is so much to figure out.

Yes, I have had lots of help that I really appreciate, but for me, this new adventure has kind of felt like undiscovered territory.

There have been days that I just go along, only because it has what God has told me to. He directed me in this way, and I have (although admittedly begrudgingly at times) decided to obey.

All I could to was hope and be certain of what I couldn’t see yet.

I also came across a quote that kind of reminds me why God doesn’t always give the easiest road to go down.

“The story is told that when Dr. David Livingstone was working in Africa, a group of friends sent a letter saying, “We would like to send other men to you. Have you found a good road into your area yet?” Apparently, Dr. Livingstone sent this message in reply: “If you have men who will only come if they know there is a good road, I don’t want them. I want men who will come if there is no road at all.” “

You see, when the Lord decided to place me in a classroom at a new school, he wasn’t doing it because it was a “good and easy” road. He wanted me to go to a place in my life where there has never been a road before, and let Him make one.

God is just cool like that.

At this season in my life, He is developing in me obedience. In this obedience to Him, I am starting to see the joy that comes from obey God.

The joy is producing love for this group of children I have been blessed with. (Yes, I said blessed. For better/worse, they are a blessing!) They come from different backgrounds,family structures, financial brackets, ability levels, and school social standings. They are a mosaic of 25 different ( and mostly larger than life) personalities. 

I fell for them.

Do you want to here how cool they are? Here are just a few examples from this week:

  • 10 of my kids ran for student council offices. 5th grade only has two spots so they all ran against each other and the other 25 fifth graders, but they were all great! They gave speeches on Thursday and I couldn’t pick one better than the other. So much bolder and braver than my 10 year old self. I had tears in my eyes when they spoke. We only had a few tears in our room when we found out none of them won. 
  • They draw awesome pictures. I have two portraits of myself, several portraits of owls, and lots of other fun things.
  • They all got so into our book this week, “Love that Dog,” They were so upset when , well, the dog died.
  • They are poetic. We did 4 poems this past week, and as I read them, I thought, man they are cool!:) I will have to share some soon.
  • They ask great questions. One of my boys asked me in Science, “If you milk cows to get milk, then how do we get beef out of beef cows? Does it come out in their poop or what?” I had to be the one to explain the or what.
  • They are so smart. I had so many A’s on our Vocab, Science, and Social Studies quizzes, it was ridiculous. 🙂
  • They do nice things for people.
  • They are motivated.
  • They are driven,
  • They are caring
  • They are loving,

I really think we are gonna make it this year. I could go on, but I need to get ready for a super fun day with two pretty awesome people, and I don’t want you to covet my class. It’s a sin, people.

Have a great Saturday! Next week, we are studying Explorers and Bridge to Terabithia. It’s gonna be fun!:)

 

With Joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

