Aside

I could be sorting out my portfolios for parent teacher conferences, or organizing my data.

I could be cleaning out my closets or doing the dishes.

I could be doing a lot of things, but feel like I need to take some time out and write.

Once again, the life of a 1st year teacher in the 5th grade could have lots of hot topics to hit on, but this particular thing is sticking out in my head.

This week has been another challenge for me. Discipline problems, extra meetings, getting yelled at by what I thought was a  child’s parent, hearing bad news, heart break for other people’s trauma, stress, and my first observation with the TLE system. It has been tester of a week.

The main thing I kept saying to myself was, ” At least I always have Jesus. I don’t know how people go through life without Jesus.”

I really don’t. In this sometime hopeless, nevergonnagetbetter world that we live in, my greatest HOPE comes in knowing that He has overcome and that my strength comes from Him.

I don’t completely understand all that He is doing right now, but I know He is just, faithful, and he LOVES me so so much. I know that he will take my ashes from disappointments, hurts, stresses, failures, and drudgery, and turn it into something BEAUTIFUL!

There have been a few verses in my heart lately, but one I though of often this week was this one.

“By yourself you’re unprotected.
With a friend you can face the worst.
Can you round up a third?
A three-stranded rope isn’t easily snapped.” Ecclesiastes 4:12 (MSG)

In addition to being really thankful to God this week, I am also Very, very thankful to those people who have become strands in a a chord that can’t easily be broken.

  • I am thankful for my family, both blood and like blood. for always listening to me and believing in me, even at my worst. For caring for me and reminding me of who I am in Him.
  • I am thankful for the fellow teachers in my building who have offered advice, coaching, ears to vent to, shoulders to cry on, and encouragement to help me go on.
  • I am thankful for my faithful friends who listen to my struggles, heartbreaks, joys, stresses,and worries. They read my texts, answer my calls,and listen to me through 3 miles on the elliptical. They encourage me, pray with me, and eat carbs with me when it’s just been to stressful.They point me away from my circumstances and back to God.
  • I am thankful for a principal who believes in me, but expects a lot from me. That challenges me to become better and writes Philipians 4:13 in e-mails.
  • I am thankful to have such a great grade level partner who listens to me, lets me vent, plans with me, celebrates, and helps me to reach all of these wonderful 10 years we have been entrusted with.
  • I am thankful for my church family and their constant support, prayers, and advice.

So, I didn’t name people by name, but I know I have at least 10 times more than the 3 strands this verse talks about. Today, I was reminded that I am loved by God, and by SO many wonderful people that care for me.

That helps me believe that my “chord” is virtually impossible to destruct! That is some amazing power right there.

Thank you Jesus for loving me and giving your life up for me. Thank you God for creating me and knowing that I would need each of these wonderful people in my life. Even in the middle of all my stresses, and messes, I am a completely blessed person!

That is SO awesome to me. Thank you God!

With Joy,

Miss Kim

chord

Leave a Reply

