keys

Standard

Well friends, I hate to say it, but I have had writer’s block ever since school started!

The past two weeks have been a whirlwind. Teaching 5th grade has brought so many challenges, and a lot of joys. I am settling in, adjusting to this “new normal.”  I could post more about school, but we will save that for a later date!:)

I am sitting here, dog in tow, enjoying my last few minutes of the long weekend.  What’s weighing on my mind?

Keys.

Yes, keys.

The truth is, in analogy world, doors get all the play. We talk about God opening and closing doors. What if the door is locked?

I thought about that about  6:40 last Friday morning. When I was sitting on the steps in front of my apartment,waiting on my keys to arrive.

You see, in my attempt to control the outcome of my day, just by arriving at work 35 minutes early, I had switched my keys for a packet of Emergen-C as I reached into the pantry. 

I didn’t  realize this until I was standing out in the rain, (with perfectly straight hair I had spent time on). I thought about throwing myself on the ground and crying. This had just added stress to an already stressful week. I thought about yelling. I thought a lot of things.

I decided to call my mom, who had the extra set, and within 19 minutes, I was back in my apartment. I had to get gas, and do a couple things before work, but still managed to get there 15 minutes early.

When I was sitting on the step, I started praying and through that time, God revealed something to me. I may think I can open doors for myself, but He holds the key.

The truth is I sometimes think I can open doors for myself. Like, if I just charm someone, work hard enough, prove myself, dream, scheme, or plan, the door of opportunity will just open.

The realization was that I needed to be reminded that things in life don/t happen because I am awesome, they happen because God who is WAY more awesome than me holds the key.

I don’t know about y’all, but I am SO thankful for that. 

I misplace keys all the time. I get the wrong key that won’t fit. I lose them. I leave them in the fridge. They fall in my dumpster. I even once found a set of keys in my rain boots by the door. I am a hot mess when it comes to keys.

We all can “misplace” God’s plans and try to follow our own. We can try to force situation, only to find it is the wrong fit. We can lose an opportunity because of our own sinful desires. We can “trash” what God wants for us, by demanding our own way. We can even find something that God has  for us unexpectedly.

God can handle all these keys. You see, he has a pretty big key chain. (it probably even has your picture on it!) He knows us and wants us not to have to keep up with all of that hardware.

We can try to pry open a door without a key, but wouldn’t it be easier just to trust God? ( I am so preaching to myself right now!)

He loves us and wants great things for us. He desires for us to bring glory to His name. 

He wants to let us in those doors, by His power and timing.

Let’s just let him handle the keys. 

The whole first chapter of Ephesians paints a beautiful picture of God’s will in our lives. I loved these verses.

“It’s in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. Long before we first heard of Christ and got our hopes up, he had his eye on us, had designs on us for glorious living, part of the overall purpose he is working out in everything and everyone.” -Ephesians 1:11-12

Father, I know it is in you and through you that all things are created. You are amazing, holy, and worthy of all my praise. Father, I ask that you forgive me for when I try to make things happen,instead of trusting in your perfect timing. Help us all to trust you more, knowing that you hold the keys to open any door in our life. You can even tear down the walls! Lord, break down the walls in my heart that prevent me from seeing your awesome and perfect will. Help me to live according to what you have purposed for my life, so that my life may bring glory to your name. I love you and it is all because of Jesus that any of this life is worthwhile. It’s in His name I pray. Amen.

 

With joy,

Miss Kim

 

Leave a Reply

