trusting the unknown to the All-Knowing.

Standard

Okay guys.

I have to be really honest with you. I love to give advice and get all excited when God places these great ideas in my heart to share, but I am horrible at taking my own advice.

I don’t know if that ever happens to anyone else, but for me, it is much easier to share advice than take it. 

I have really been struggling with this whole surrendering my plans to God and trusting He is painting that beautiful picture we talked about last week.

The truth is, I am not really certain about any of the things in my life right now. All of the “unknowns” in my equations are freaking me out a bit.

I know God is in control and he has a perfect plan. I know this. I am horrible at remembering what I know right now.

There are so many thoughts, ideas,and dreams floating around that is hard to remember. 

God knows this about me.

As I was with kids from Irving this weekend at Character Camp, he reminded me again in a beautiful way. 

As part of my being a character camp sponsor, I got to assist my 12 girls and 1 boy through the ropes course. This was a little different than going with adults like I was used to. They need a lot of encouragement to carry on.

As they looked at the big obstacles, I saw the fear and confusion enter their minds. I had to step it up and walk along side them as they journeyed into the great unknown. I cheered them on,even though it seemed like they would never get across without falling. At one point, I had to do a trust fall and let the kids catch me before they felt safe enough to jump. 

As I was doing these things alongside the kids, God reminded me that even though I may face an obstacle, I am not facing it alone. He is right there with me. He may not take the obstacle out of my way, but He will use it for His purpose. He may be able just to tell me the answer, but He knows that going alongside me and encouraging me is going to help me to understand and own it more. 

There were a lot of times I could have told the kids an easy way out, or not made them start over when they fell, but seeing their faces as they accomplished what was once impossible was more important than a shortcut. 

That’s the way it is with God. He could surely show us a shortcut, but He knows we learn the most about His character and ours when we are in the process. 

As the 13 kids looked at the wall that they would all have to climb with just the support of the team, they were scared to death. You know though, once we got one kid over the wall, they all believed it was possible. All 13 of them got over the wall! As the last kid made it, I had tears in my eyes. 

God knows we have obstacles, impossible odds, and challenges. He did not spare those even from His own Son. God knows there are things we want to shortcut. There are things that seem too tall or tough to climb. 

In my own life, there are shortcuts I want to happen. There are dreams I have that seem impossible. There are certainly challenges. 

I felt that on that course He was speaking into my heart saying, ” I am going to get you though and you better believe that what I have coming is amazing.”

Surrendering is a daily challenge for me. Being equipped with the Truth and knowing I can trust the unknown to the All Knowing was certainly a reminder I needed. 

I was listening to the radio this morning and heard this awesome NeedToBreathe song. The lyrics were so true. ( The whole song is awesome and you need to listen to it. It’s called Keep Your Eyes Open)

“Keep Your Eyes Open”

If you could soldier on
Headstrong into the storm
I’ll be here waiting on the other side
Don’t look back
The road is long
The first days of the war are gone
Take back your former throne and turn the tide

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown till you
Keep your eyes open, my love
So tell me you’re strong, tell me you see
I need to hear it, can you promise me to
Keep your eyes open, my love

Just past the circumstance
The first light, a second chance
No child could ever dance the way you do, oh
Tear down the prison walls
Don’t start the curtain call
Your chains will never fall until you do

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown till you
Keep your eyes open, my love
So show me your fire, show me your heart
You know I’ll never let you fall apart if you
Keep your eyes open, my love

Open up
Open up
Open up your eyes
The weight is unbroken
Open up
Open up
Open up your eyes
Keep your eyes open

Don’t let the night become the day
Don’t take the darkness to the grave
I know pain is just a place
The will has been broken
Don’t let the fear become the hate
Don’t take the sadness to the grave
I know the fight is on the way
When the sides have been chosen

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown 
Open up your eyes
Keep your eyes open
So tell me you’re strong, tell me you see
I need to hear it, can you promise me to
Keep your eyes open, my love
So show me your fire, show me your heart
You know I’ll never let you fall apart if you
Keep your eyes open, my love

Keep your eyes (Keep your eyes open)

 
I love this song. Also, reading and mediating on Psalm 18 has really helped too. It’s a good one. Check it out!:)
 
My favorite part of the song is where it says, ” Show me your fire/Show me your heart/You know I’ll never let it fall apart/ Just keep your eyes open my love.”
 
In our lives we will have dreams, desires that ride along right beside challenges and struggles. God promises over and over again that if we trust Him with our Heart, He will hold onto it, even as the world tries to rip it apart.
 
Amen.
 
 
With Joy,
Miss Kim
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

