Aside

Today was the almost last day of school. I can already feel  the emotions rushing.

It’s a bittersweet thing for me. Always has been.

I am that nerd who has always loved school.

Today was kindergarten graduation, assemblies for 1st-5 th, and 6 th grade promotion is tonight.

I think the end of school always makes me sad because I am not a big fan of change. I like schedules, routines, and steadiness. The start of things always freak me out, and the ends of things make me sad. I am a fan of the middle. The time where you hit that stride and keep tracking along.

True to self, I can be contradictory. While I have a great dislike for change, I have a greater dislike for complacency.

I never want to stop learning, growing, setting goals, and achieving.

It really is a paradox. Hating change but fearing what happens if you don’t.

I walk the fine line of having a balanced steady life, filled with adventure, challenges, and new experiences.

As I discovered this, I realized most of the unpleasant feelings I have with change center around people. I love people. I like being around them. I don’t like it when they disappear for a while, move away, or just want to stop being my friend. In the steadiness of a routine, you find consistency in people. When the situation changes and the people are gone, the dynamic changes.

I also discovered that complacency fear comes from being scared of not taking risks. I don’t want to wake up one morning and say, ” Man, I wish I would have taken that chance.” I want to be able to seize every opportunity I have. I want to make the most of this life that God chooses to give to me everyday. I want to work harder, become stronger, and press onward towards the prize.

So in this delicate dance of change and complacency, I have found another “c” words to help me along.

Contentment.

The only thing that saves me from being an emotional wreck every time change comes my way is knowing that I have a relationship with the one Constant God who never changes.

The only thing that keeps me from complacency is contentment in this relationship with God. Knowing that He has a plan. Sometimes I am called to move, sometimes I am called to stay, and sometimes I have to just be still and know.

Contentment-noun- being satisfied. having ease of mind.

You see. As much as I hate it, life changes. It moves pretty fast. At the same times, you can grow weary waiting for the fulfillment of things yet to come.

The only reprieve for this is the One who gives us all we need. The One who brings peace to our minds that surpasses all understanding.

He brings contentment. He is good.

In a world where nothing is certain, we can look to the One who created the world and everything in it.

He is our King. He is our Hope. He makes our yoke light. He is our joy. He is our constant.

Our only contentment can be found in Him.

“I’m glad in God, far happier than you would ever guess—happy that you’re again showing such strong concern for me. Not that you ever quit praying and thinking about me. You just had no chance to show it. Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am. I don’t mean that your help didn’t mean a lot to me—it did. It was a beautiful thing that you came alongside me in my troubles.” Philippians 4:10-14 (MSG)

 

With joy,

Miss Kim

 

the 3 “c’s”…

Leave a Reply

