fame.

Standard

When I was a kid, I had a few dreams.

I wanted to be Snow White and have all the dwarfs as my friends.

I wanted to be a teacher.

I wanted to be a newscaster.

I wanted to be a mom.

I wanted to be a celebrity singer with many adoring fans.

I remember quite a few times belting out Reba, dancing to Ice Ice Baby, and singing with my cousins. In elementary school, my dad let me print off all kinds of Mariah Carey stuff and hang it up in my room.

I watched them on TV.  Everyone loved them. People wanted to be them. I wanted to be famous.

I thought it would be the coolest thing I could ever do.

I was wrong. Following Jesus is the coolest thing I have ever and will ever do.

He doesn’t care that I can’t sing, dance like a crazy fool, and will never be a celebrity.  He doesn’t care how good I am or what I do. He loves me for me. All that time I was looking to be famous, I was really looking to be accepted, loved, and adored.

Jesus gives you and me all of those things! Isn’t that incredible. When he looks at you he sees a beautiful, bright, and brilliant star. He sees someone he loved enough to die for.

The best part. We don’t have the earn His love. He just gives it. In abundance!

You wanna know something else? If you ever really want to feel like a “rockstar”, invest in the life of a child.

You see, I always thought I wanted to be famous. Turns out God had it as part of His plan all along.

When I walk down the halls at school, I see kids who are excited I am there. I when I help out in Kindergarten P.E., the kids think my “Mr. Fox” game is the best game ever. When I am at the store, some kids are shocked to see me there. To hear a child I ask, ” Did I do a good job?” makes me feel important and that my opinion matters.

It’s nice to be there for them when they are hurt or upset.

It’s nice to see them win, because I win too.

It makes my heart almost burst to see something click in their mind.

My job makes me feel like a rockstar.

I can’t help but think God planned it that way. That each time I get encouragement from a kid, co-worker, or friend, that is God saying, ” Keep it up.” Each time a child compliments me  that is God saying, ” You are my masterpiece.”  Each time I see a child go through a trial and come out on the other side, God is saying, “I am faithful. Trust me.”

To work with kids in both the school and church is a privilege and a huge blessing.

I may never make millions of dollars, be on the cover of a magazine, or have a hit record, but I am allowed to be on the front lines of making a difference every day.

Teacher appreciation week is starting. There are lots of noble professions, but I encourage each of you to thank our teachers! They are so important in the shaping of the future. More importantly, pray for them. They are up against so much and need some ammo in the spiritual war going on out there.

Remember, no matter where you are or what you are doing, if you are a child of God, you are precious in His eyes.

Let Him be the center of your life, and you will find all the fame you will ever need.

“He must become greater, I must become less.” John 3:30

 

With Joy,

Miss Kim


 

Leave a Reply

