Aside

I know. I am a slacking again. I chalk it up to a mixture of being busy at work, having busier evenings, and of course, trying to finish all the books in the “Hunger Games” series.

It was testing week at school. As a kid, I loved testing week. You get more free time, you get snacks, and I always finished pretty fast, so I had bonus reading time. It was a win-win kind of week. Testing week as an adult who works at school is completely different. The routines changed, the kids were stressed, as well as the teachers. I love my job, but I was really happy to leave yesterday.

One of the highlights of my week was going to the Miranda Lambert/Chris Young/Jerad Niemann concert with 3 of my good friends and my mom. It was a lot of fun just to spend time with them. It had been a while, since work had been keeping me busy. I saw Miranda in concert last year, but she was still good this year. To be honest, I was much more excited about seeing Mr. Chris Young. He is one of my favorites, and let me tell you girls, he did not disappoint.:)

The concert was great, but it was on a Thursday night. I stayed at my mom’s house in the FTG, but it was 1 AM before we got home and in bed. Morning came very soon. I was already tired from the week, so adding concert and lack of sleep didn’t help. My devotional that morning was about using God for your strength and resting in him. It was a good reminder for the day.

Little did I know how much I would need it.

After my supervision time at the office, I went to school. During the morning, a few of my kids got in trouble for various reasons, so I had a lot of conversations to have. It wasn’t exactly a fun morning. At lunch time I was in line with some of the kids and excited to eat and spend time with them when I got called to the office. There was a kindergartner down the hall that was upset.

Upset may have been a bit of an understatement.

Before I even got to the hall, I could hear screaming, I entered the room and found a red -faced, tear streaked little boy screaming at the top of his lungs. He couldn’t focus on anything, including his schoolwork his teacher had requested he finish. We convinced the teacher to let me take the child to the office for a while. Her only condition is that he finish his work.

The first 10 minutes (felt more like forever), he continued the crying and screaming. I got out stuffed animals. I tried a book. I tried using calming tones. I was exhausted and felt like throwing myself on the floor.

Then, I did it, for dramatic affect.

Then I saw it, a smile Then I heard a giggle. For the next few minutes the child wavered between hysterically crying and laughing. Then, he began to talk to me. He was upset because kids called him stupid, his teacher yelled at him, his parents yelled at him, and people had been mean.

I get that, people can be  mean.  After we talked for a while, I got him to write the sentence on his paper. He needed help sounding out the letter because he couldn’t remember which was which. He was afraid to ask before. He drew his picture. He couldn’t draw it before, because he forgot what frogs looked like. I just happened to have a stuffed frog lying around.

He got his work finished, calmed down, and got back in class. I wondered, if  a little extra time and attention all that kid needed, why wasn’t his problem solved before.

Then God dropped another truth bomb into my life.

How many times do I cut short conversations with people? Do I refuse to help them when a simple solution could make a difference? Do I use words that give life to people or take it way? Does my life project hope to others, or despair?Do I really love people like He does?

That little boy reminded me that although our lives are drama-filled, fast paced, full of problems, deadlines, and bills, we have to think beyond ourselves.

We have got to start loving people. As Christians, we need to not just love when it is easy, we need to love when it hurts. We need to not only love the lovable, but the unlovable as well. It’s easy to give up extra time, but what about when the time becomes an interruption.

Once again, when I say these things, I am saying them mostly to myself.

Mother Teresa said  “Do not think that to be genuine that has to be extraordinary. What we need is to love without tired.”

We are human and do get tired. When we do, God offers up this promise to us.

“but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” -Isaiah 40:31

God is our strength. Lets go love those who need him.

With Joy,

Miss Kim

we just need a little time.

One response »

Leave a Reply

