#2-Check

Standard

Yep. I have gotten some momentum on this bucket list. I have finished the “Hunger Games” trilogy. Wow. That was intense.

I have somewhat of an addictive personality. I watch TV shows in marathon seasons on Hulu. I drink way to much Coke Zero. I get stuck on songs and listen to them over and over. 

I heard of the “addictive” effect this particular book series as had on its readers. I resisted for as long as I could, but about 10 days ago, I got sucked in.

I love the books! I don’t want to give too much away because if you haven’t read them, I want to give you a fair shot. Like many others, when I first heard that the plot included a game in which children killed other children, I was a little unsure, but the books are so much more than that. 

The books are about the fine line between love and hate. 

The books show the the struggle with finding out who you are.

The books are about figuring out who you can trust, and what the motives of others are.

The books really make you think what could happen to this world we live in, if we continue to sacrifice our morality for entertainment.

The books really make you think.

They are well written, fast-paced, and make you(or at least me) go through a roller coaster of emotions.

My favorite part is the underlying theme of hope among all the despair in the world.(These books in no way ever mention God or any kind of higher power, but the message of how some people bring hope and others bring hate is there.) I also love the inner dialogue of the main character. She thinks kind of the way I think, and is easy to relate to. I also love Peeta! He is one of the main characters and his story line in the books is good. One minute you love him, the next he makes you cry. 

Okay, enough of me rambling about the books. If you are intrigued, you should read. The movie is also good, but not as good as the books. 

I was always a fast reader in school, but I think I set a record with these books. The “Hunger Games” took me a little over 5 hours one night.  I just sat and read it and couldn’t stop. The second book “Catching Fire,” I started on a Saturday morning and tried to stop halfway through. I wasn’t busy that day so I picked it back up and read the other half. It took about 4-5 hours. The third book “Mockingjay,” took me 2 days. I was going to do it in 3, but part 2 of the 3rd book ends in such a suspenseful place, I had to go on.

Why did I put this on my bucket list? Well, I always say I don’t have time to read for fun anymore. I love to read. I always have. Putting this on the list was a way to remind me to do the things I love more often. 

I loved spending all last Saturday reading my book. Not having to be busy. Not having to be surrounded by people. Just the book and I.

I loved the books and would recommend them. Just be warned: they are highly addictive.

Leave a Reply

