Aside

The other morning, I was talking to our janitor. We were mostly chatting about random things and then she started talking about our weather. She told me that she loved the fact it was spring.

Who doesn’t love spring? (Besides allergy sufferers?)

The flowers bloom. New life comes to relieve the cold winter of its dreary disposition. Days get longer. The sun shines brighter. Spring clothes are pretty. There is baseball, Easter, spring break, and snow cones.

I am a Fall kinda girl myself (mostly because I was born in the fall.), but I do love me some Spring. I think God was very clever with this new life coming in Spring, right around the time of Jesus’s death.

The janitor continued to talk about Spring and then she said, ” You know, I don’t like fall and winter because everything dies and it gets cold. Summer is way too hot. I wish it were just Spring all the time.”

I responded saying, ” If it were always Spring, then you really wouldn’t appreciate it. I mean the things have to die to bring new life. We would never see the new life, if it didn’t first die.”

Lightbulb reminder moment. I thought back to a conversation I had with someone a few months ago. They said that if God loves us and created us, why didn’t He just make us all believe in him to begin with. Why didn’t he make us love Him.

That day I remember telling that person a reason like, because you want people to love you because they want to, not out of obligation.

I reflected on both those conversations today, and found a connection.

Lots of people wonder why there is sin in the world, why we have to decide to love God, etc… They start to ask, “Why can’t we all just be born without sin and in love with God?” “Why can’t we always be living in Spring?”

Well, if you never had the winter of your life, the time before your relationship with Christ, you would never appreciate the new life He brings.

Simple correlation, I know, but I feel it is an important one to make.

We have to die to ourselves to experience the new life in Christ.

We have to have Winter to see Spring!

If we never had the “winter” in our life, we would not appreciate all the fullness “spring ” brings to our lives.

Just a little random rambling.

“This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” – 2 Cor. 5:17

With Joy,

Miss Kim

winter/spring

Leave a Reply

