Aside

When last we left, I was in the middle of Spring Break. The last half friends, was much more whirlwind than the first!

Thursday:  I went on a shopping trek to OKC  with my friend Amelia. We left at 11:00 AM and returned at 1:30 AM. It was a marathon. That is the way we roll, though. We stopped on the way  to see another friend, Hallie, in Shawnee. We saw her house and ate at a bakery that had the best salad bar ever. It had every topping you  can imagine. We then went to the outlet mall, Daisy Exchange, (which is a fancy Plato’s closet), Ross, Old Navy, and the mall. We didn’t even stop to eat dinner until 9, when all the stores closed. We then went to my favorite, Cheesecake Factory! It was a long and very fun day.

Friday: Had lunch with my mom and went to put our names in the Vera Bradley drawing at Meigs. I am pretty sure I didn’t win again. We looked around downtown for a while. I then went home to get ready for the Ben Rector/NeedToBreathe concert! I met up with my friend from work and people from her church. It was so fun! We ate at Cheddar’s and had lots of laughs along the way. Ben Rector was amazing! If you have never listened to him, you should. My favorite are “The Beat,” “White Dress,” and “Lovin’ you is Easy.”  NeedToBreathe puts on one of the BEST live shows I have ever seen. They are such great and talented musicians. If you don’t know them, you need to.  My favorite songs that aren’t the popular ones are ” The Outsiders,” “Restless,”  and ” Girl from Tennessee.” Listen to the songs, you won’t be disappointed! We got home about 2:00. Another late night, but way worth it!

Saturday: Mom and I went to Crystal Bridges. It is a new Museum found by mostly Alice Walton. It has beautiful architecture, lots of different styles of art inside. Outside, there were trails, plants, flowers, waterfront, and sculpturies. It was an absolutely amazing place. The best part, it was FREE. I would have paid to go to it, but it was completely free. I saw so many different types of people and families there. It is so neat to have something that nice for all types of people to enjoy. It isn’t too far either, right next door in Bentonville, AR. Most certainly worth the drive to see. I want to go back already! After that, we went to Lifeway and a few other stores, then finished off the night at Olive Garden. I got home at a much more reasonable 10:30!

Sunday: Church, lunch with Sarah (and lots of catching up on her Mission trip.), 2 hour nap, and cleaning. My roommate and I went and had dinner, and then where going to get gelato for us and the Coppedge’s, but they were closed. Lame. Instead, we brought over Braums and had a good time talking with them.

It was a little strange not being on a trip this Spring Break, but it was much needed. I spent quality time with people, had some adventures, rested, and obviously ate at a lot of different places(lol!)

I had a simple moment yesterday. As we were walking around Crystal Bridges, I was so amazed that it was a free gift. God reminded me softly that it is not as amazing as His free gift of salvation. That is by far the MOST amazing gift. I am humbled everyday that I have this amazing Love that I don’t deserve. It is the best free gift, and I should know. I am a sucker for free gifts with purchase. I hope and pray that I always live with the same passion for God’s free gifts as I do for the free gifts life gives.

Tomorrow is Monday! I am super excited to see my kids again. I do love breaks from school, but I love my job. I am ready to get up at 6:15, start my new ” Brave,” by Angela Thomas study, and get back in the routine.

By 4:30 tomorrow,I may be singing a different tune,though. Don’t judge me.

We read this verse at church this morning. It is a favorite of mine and my goal for the week. I want to strive to produce this fruit, so that others my know Him.

” But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23

With Joy ( and hopefully love, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control),

Miss Kim

end of week spring break update.

Leave a Reply

