Aside

Well, it’s Spring Break and my mind is fresh out of insight. I have been in an “insight funk” the past few days. Feeling a little bit off my game. I am hoping to get back up to 100 percent by the end of the week.:)

I would do a little recap of Spring Break, so far. This break is vastly different from the past 5 or so Spring Breaks, where I have done missions. It is a welcome break.

Friday: I know I was at work this day, but it was a pretty cool day  I need to recap. First off, it was group picture day! I was in the staff picture, made me feel very included. I went to pick up a book in the book fair and found out I was given 25.00 to spend on resources as such. I bought more than the one book I had intended on. I was able to play Whiffleball with some 4th graders, and it was movie Buy-out day. We had a mission trip meeting, and I got to visit with my friend Laura who was home for the weekend.

Saturday: I managed to sleep in a little bit, did some cleaning, and working out. I went to Pryor to meet up with Autumn, Bryce’s sister, and my friend Elizabeth for a bridesmaid dress fitting. After the fitting, Bryce’s sister had to go, but Autumn, Biz, and I had dinner, watched a movie, and caught up on everything. It was a great day.

Sunday: Early service about building relationships. Sunday school. Taught some of our bus ministry kids during the late service. Lunch with my 2nd family. 2 1/2 hour nap, followed by a 2 hour Beth Moore study. Evening service and dinner with some friends from church.

Monday: Tried to sleep in. Went up to the church. A neighboring church’s mission projects had been rained out and they came to help us. Reminded me of being on a mission trip, which I really liked. Helped the girls with some stuff, made some letters, worked on other stuff. Spent the night watching TV, working on work paperwork, and with my friend, Jillian Michaels(and her 30 day shred)

Tuesday: Slept til 10:00! That never happens. Went back to the church and helped with the mission team again. Got the extended session schedule finished(with no changes I hope:)) and went to dinner with my friend, Deanne. She helped me clean out my car and we had great fun as usual. Came home and caught up with my rooms who just got back from Vegas ( ah, the glamorous life.).

Wednesday: Got up early to meet my mom and help her take my Grandma to the doctor in Tulsa. They ran some tests on her back and decided she will need surgery. Grandma decided that was fine with her, she just ready to get rid of the pain. We had lunch at Cracker Barrel (what Spring break trip is complete without it!), got her prescription, got it filled, and got her home.  I met my friend Lauren to go watch The Lorax. It was such a cute movie. I plan on ending my Wednesday with dinner, paperwork, maybe working out, and getting caught up on Big Bang Theory ( I heart Sheldon Cooper.) It is super weird to not be busy on a Wednesday night.

Well, there you have it. The not so exciting, but much needed Spring Break, so far.

Stay tuned, the latter part of this week hold many exciting things. Tomorrow it’s shopping with Amelia. Friday, it is seeing NeedtoBreathe and Ben Rector in concert. Saturday holds the possibility of a trip to Crystal Bridges (the new museum the Walton’s created in NWA).

The truth is that even though all last week I couldn’t wait for a break, I am super excited to see my kids again! They bring so much joy and laughter into the everyday-ness of life.

I am thankful for this break and for the opportunities God continues to give me everyday.

I am thankful for time to rest in Him.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30

With Joy,

Miss Kim

mid-week, spring break, update

Leave a Reply

