Aside

Well, it’s week 3 of Wednesday prayer walking.

Actually, it is a prayer drive by followed by some prayer in the parking lot, followed by prayer walking in the hallways.

Lemme tell you. The prayer drive by has proved to be very helpful. Our school is a neighborhood school, so I have spent some time driving all the streets. God shows me so much through that time. I see where these kids live, and the world right outside their door. I see so much more I feel by following the footsteps they take to get from the door to the desk.  Let’s face it. I work in Muskogee. Drive-by praying goes with the culture.

God has been teaching me a lot lately, and I feel like the prayer walking thing came at a very good time in that learning process.

I set out to change the hearts of the people in the school, and  as usual, it is my heart that is being molded as I further my obedience to God’s call.

I have no big stories or major revelations today, just random observations of my 3 weeks of prayer walking.

The Observations:

  • I have always liked to pray,( I mean hello, you get to talk to God) praying for these kids and our school has become a great joy of mine.
  • The more I pray, the more God reveals that I need to pray for.
  • God is most certainly at work in the world . Everyday. All the time.
  • Even if you never say a word to someone, your actions (good or bad) can tell them everything they want to know about Jesus.
  • When you are prayed up, challenges usually follow. I see these as “gut-checks” to make sure your walk and talk match up.
  • Sometimes, no matter how much you pray, some news is just plain heartbreaking.
  • People will disappoint.
  • Each time I feel all prayed up, 5 seconds later the testy teacher comes up to me and I feel I need to repent.
  • Never expect to much or too little out of people. People rise up. People fail. God never fails. Expect things from him.
Each week I read a passage of Scripture over the school, as a battle cry of sorts. This week it was Psalms 143

“LORD, hear my prayer,
listen to my cry for mercy;
in your faithfulness and righteousness
come to my relief.
2 Do not bring your servant into judgment,
for no one living is righteous before you.
3 The enemy pursues me,
he crushes me to the ground;
he makes me dwell in the darkness
like those long dead.
4 So my spirit grows faint within me;
my heart within me is dismayed.
5 I remember the days of long ago;
I meditate on all your works
and consider what your hands have done.
6 I spread out my hands to you;
I thirst for you like a parched land.[a]

7 Answer me quickly, LORD;
my spirit fails.
Do not hide your face from me
or I will be like those who go down to the pit.
8 Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,
for to you I entrust my life.
9 Rescue me from my enemies, LORD,
for I hide myself in you.
10 Teach me to do your will,
for you are my God;
may your good Spirit
lead me on level ground.

11 For your name’s sake, LORD, preserve my life;
in your righteousness, bring me out of trouble.
12 In your unfailing love, silence my enemies;
destroy all my foes,
for I am your servant.”

Let’s win this world for God and defeat our enemies! Join me in that prayer!

With Joy,

Miss Kim

drive-by prayer

Leave a Reply

