plantin’ seeds.

Standard

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” Galatians 6:9

I will be honest. Sometimes I grow weary. Sometimes I feel like I give, pray, hope, and work, but nothing happens.

  • I’ll be at school working with a kid on coping with his anger, then two hours later he is in the office for fighting. I grow weary.
  • I will prepare an awesome lesson at church and get so excited. Then the kids become uninterested and get me off topic. I grow frustrated.
  • I share the message of Christ with someone, and never know if I got through. I grow anxious.
  • I pray and pray for something and continue to wait for the answer. I grow impatient.
  • I see injustices, heartbreaks, and devastation daily. I can’t fix all the problems. I grow calloused.

Sometimes it’s hard NOT to give up.

Then, just at the right time, God sweeps in.

  • I see another child that can start to express himself through words, not violence. A seed starts to poke up from the ground.
  • I see my kids at church start to care for others enough to tell them about Jesus. Rain pours down. It begins to grow.
  • I share the message of Jesus with someone, and I see the light come on. Sunshine beats down on the plant. It grows taller.
  • I see glimmers of hope, peace, and beauty in our broken world. In place of the dirt, there is a flower.

You see, God never promised us an “easy life” where everyone likes you and everything works out perfect.

He did promise us that he would “work all things together for the good of those who love Him.” (Romans 8:28).

God uses the good and bad in our lives. He melts together our, successes, failures, hopes, joys, sorrows, and grief to make a beautiful masterpiece for His good.

All those seeds you plant are gonna grow. We just need to let them go and trust God. He has a plan.

“I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow.” 1 Cor. 3:6(ESV)

I started thinking as I was writing, maybe as we plant these seeds with others, maybe God is planting a see in us. As the seeds we plant grow, I believe our faith and trust in Him grows too.

Maybe that’s why we can’t just see immediate results, because God is growing us too.

I love the promise at the end of Galatians 6:9: we will reap, if we don’t give up.

I am not sure where you are planting right now, but just get ready because a whole harvest of blessings are coming your way.

Don’t give up.

With Joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

