Of course I do.

Standard

Today, after lunch, it was time to pick up my most mischievous, patience-trying, cute-as-can be kindergartner.

When I pick this particular kg’er up, I never know what kind of mood she will be in. Sometimes, she is super-happy and excited, and other times she stays mad at me the whole hour.

This morning, when I saw her during breakfast, she was certainly in the patience trying mode. She hid under the table, wouldn’t finish her food, and disrupted many children trying to eat. She  got an attitude with me after about the 1,000 time I told her she needed to go to class. As she went to class she huffed, ” You better be there to pick me up after lunch.”

It is safe to say I wasn’t the most excited person in the world to be picking her up.

I didn’t want her to be mad, though, so I picked her up and we started walking. She was in a surprisingly pleasant mood. (usually if she is mad at me in the morning, it lasts all day.) She asked if we could just go for a walk while we talked. 

As we started outside, she said. ” Miss Kim, even when you are upset with me, you still love me right?”

“Why of course I do! I only tell you things and make you do things because I care about you and want what’s best for you.”

Then she smiled really big and said, ” You know, if anyone ever tried to get you, I would kick them in the face.” 

 She asked if we could just sit for a while and be quiet. So we did. 

Then, I felt like I got kicked in the face. Once again, God used a situation at school to speak some truth into my heart. 

Sometimes, I find myself asking the same thing to God. I mean, after all the stuff I have done, I wonder, can he still love me? I mess up so many times. I fall short. I don’t say the right things. I have the wrong motives. I get caught in sin. I make much of me, and less of Him. I huff and puff, and expect so much from Him, without giving  thanks. I can act like a bratty kg’er towards God on occasion.

Each time though, just like I had to remind my little kg’er, He reminds me. He says,” Of course I do, Kim.”

On my mirror, I have a few paraphrases of verses to remind me of the truth that God does love me. Just in case you need reminding too, God says:

  • I came to give you abundant life. John 10:10
  • You are the one that I want. 1 Peter 2:9
  • I am your Rock and your Fortress, you are set for life. Psalms 62:2
  • I have plans for you. To give you Hope. A Future. To Prosper you. Jeremiah 29:11
  • I love you! -John 3:16

I hope that you will be reminded that you are deeply loved by your Heavenly father. May you find time to stop in your day, and be still before Him, so that he may remind you of just how loved you are.

“The Lord your God is in your midst,
     a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
    he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.” -Zep. 3:17

 

With Joy ( and love),

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

