joy, part 2

Standard

Today was one of my MOST favorite days of the year. It was Mission Ignition day. For those of you who don’t know, Mission Ignition is a one day event they have across the state of Oklahoma. Elementary age students come and learn about missions, race cards, get awards for their involvement in missions, and party it up!

The past 3 years, I have had the privilege of teaching a class.  It is like a marathon of teaching. You teach 3, 20 minute segments an hour to groups of 10-20. I love it!!

This year, was especially cool for a few reasons. First, FBC Tahlequah is now at the Platinum level for our missions education/experiences. Not bronze. Not silver. Not gold. Platinum.  You wanna talk about proud momma!  Secondly, the past two years I taught about missions experiences, but this year I got to teach evangelism strategies for kids. This basically meant I got to present the gospel to 150 kids. Telling kids about Jesus is one of my MOST favorite things to tell.

I was flying high today. It didn’t even matter that I got 5 hours of sleep and my voice started going out at noon. I felt like I was making a difference. The kids all liked me. I even got to play on the inflatables. Definitley a fun day for a people person.

Then I met Joy. I was in the hall getting ready to teach again after lunch, and Joy walked up to me.She  She had been travelling from Texas and needed to get to Muskogee. We were in McAlester and Muskogee was on our way home. She told me her story. 

I wanted to help her. There was something inside me that stopped me from saying yes. I had another adult with me and several children that were my responsibility. I told her I would have to talk to the other sponsor and we would find her.

She proceeded to sit outside my class and listen to me tell each child how they can be a missionary where they are at. I couldn’t help but think, is this an opportunity for me?

I found my other leader during a break and we talked about it. We decided that since we had children with us, it would be best just to try and find a place for her in town. We talked to some the host church’s members and one of them took her to a shelter.

I feel like in that situation, it was the best thing to do. I also felt God say to me, ” You know Kim, you are a great teacher, and all these awesome things are happening, but when it comes down to it, how much do you trust me.”

Eeek. It was gut-check time again. I had had different experience yesterday were I was stuck somewhere between saying something I felt I should or holding back.

I was in a “What would Jesus do?” kinda situations. Those happen all the time. Sometimes I make the right call, sometimes I don’t.  Sometimes I go into a situation confident that God has got me, and other times I am scared to death.

I do know that today I was reminded that I may win stuff, teach stuff, and do a lot of good things, but if I am not living out what I believe, then it is all worthless.

I was reminded I need to live it out.

I needed Joy to remind me.

“These have come so that your faith–of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire–may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.” 1 Peter 1:7

With Joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

