with joy

Standard

Today was a beautiful day.

I am a fan of sunny days. They remind of the Creator who orchestrated and ordained them ( and every day for that matter.) Days like these make it hard for me to believe some people don’t think there is a God.

I did spend most of it inside at work. After work though, I got to exercise with Autumn, and then have a cookout weith the community group peeps. Both were outside and full of conversations, two things I love.

Joy has been the current theme in my life lately.  I feel like I am in a pretty good place. I am really excited about the  God is doing in my life and the lives of those around me. I am really excited for the future and what God has in store. I am in a joyful place.

Years ago a friend of mine said, “Don’t let circumstances overcome your joy.”  That has kind of stuck with me for a while. Circumstance can sometimes tell us that life is not full, and we have no reason to be happy.

Many of you may have gone through things I have never had to experience. I have only lived on this earth a short time, and been a follower of Jesus an even shorter time, but I have found this to be true.  Emotions like sadness, anger, worry, and even happiness are based circumstance and can change in an instant.

Joy is different. The definition of the word joy says that it is often evoked by feelings of obtaining one’s desire, or delight. You see friends, when God becomes your desire, joy arrives on the scene as a constant.

For you math people:  Desire=God= JOY!

If your joy is fleeting and based on circumstance, it may be because you placed your desire in the wrong place.

God desires for you to have a full, abundant, joyful life. He wants you to find all you need in Him. That my friends is where true, overwelming joy comes from.

Some people think joy is a fluffy word that happy, shiny people use. Joy is not fluff. It is a command.  Paul wrote: “Be joyful always.”

Not just when things are great.

Not just when you feel sunny.

Not just when you win.

Always. If you can find yourself joyful always, then you know  that your desire is in the right place.

I pray that you will find your joy in a relationship with God and that he will overwhelm you with his amazing love. If you aren’t sure what this joy feels like, or what a relationship with God looks like. I would love to talk to you. So would He.

“It is the consciousness of the threefold joy of the Lord, His joy in ransoming us, His joy in dwelling within us as our Saviour and Power for fruitbearing and His joy in possessing us, as His Bride and His delight; it is the consciousness of this joy which is our real strength. Our joy in Him may be a fluctuating thing: His joy in us knows no change.”  -Hudson Taylor.

With Joy,

Miss Kim

Leave a Reply

