Aside

Today I felt like a proud momma.

I know I am not really their mom, but I just have to brag on my kids!

I had the privilege of visiting the 2nd grade piano recital. ( well, 1/2 of the 2nd grade. I have to wait until Thursday for the rest.) In our elementary school, we have a keyboard lab. The kids learn piano skills 2nd grade and on. Today in their class, they got to present one of the little songs they learned. A few parents came. There were snacks. It was a big to-do. I was told this morning that I “just HAD to be there,” so I made an appearance.

I had no idea what to expect. I work with 4 students that are in this class, so I was really excited to see their skills. When it was their turn, they walked up to the piano, introduced themselves, and played their piece. I watched the 1st few stumble through the introductions.( I can imagine they were nervous.) They played their piece and sat down.

Then my first boy got up. He introduced himself, just like we practiced, and played the best version of “Jumping Frogs,” I had heard. I was so proud that I almost teared up. The rest of my students got up, and all introduced themselves with confidence and played with competence.

Did I mention how proud I was?

Then, we had refreshments, and the kids got to serve their parents first. One of my students asked me if I wanted anything, since I had came as their “parent.” I was touched.

As they were leaving, each one of them asked me, “Miss Kim, did I do a good job?”

I replied, “Of course you did.” It was so great to see their smiles.

On the way home, I started thinking about how that experience will be different when it really is my own child up there. How will I feel? Then, I started to think about all those moments I had with my own parents, and wondered if what I felt was anything like what they experience.

Then I thought about my Heavenly Father. I wondered…

 Does His heart burst with love for me?.(yes, Psalm 86:15 (ESV)”But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.”)

Do I bring him joy? (yes. John 15:11(MSG) I’ve told you these things for a purpose: that my joy might be your joy, and your joy wholly mature.”)

What pleases God? (so many examples, but I will use Micah 6:8 He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you,but to do justice, and to love kindness,and to walk humbly with your God?) 

Isn’t God just cool with some of the reminders He sends?!

Remember, wherever you are today, that there is a God who loves you. You bring him Joy. He is pleased by your presence. You are madly  loved. Walk in it.

Also, while we are on reminders, remember this:

“Be assured that from the first day we heard of you, we haven’t stopped praying for you, asking God to give you wise minds and spirits attuned to his will, and so acquire a thorough understanding of the ways in which God works. We pray that you’ll live well for the Master, making him proud of you as you work hard in his orchard. As you learn more and more how God works, you will learn how to do your work. We pray that you’ll have the strength to stick it out over the long haul—not the grim strength of gritting your teeth but the glory-strength God gives. It is strength that endures the unendurable and spills over into joy, thanking the Father who makes us strong enough to take part in everything bright and beautiful that he has for us.” Col. 1:9-12 (MSG)

With Joy,

Miss Kim

proud momma

Leave a Reply

