high stakes/deep water/our Love

Standard

 

So, I had a pretty fun weekend. I drove to Ft. Worth to see my friend Laura, and her new life at SWBTS. We had lots of fun eating, laughing, talking, watching movies, etc. It was a much needed break. We also got to eat dinner with one of my friends from college, Ashton.  We also went to an Arabic church, which was one of the coolest things ever.

It was nice to be on the open road by myself.  I do my best thinking and praying on the road. I kept hearing the song “Ours,” by Taylor Swift. It started to remind me of a lot of situations in my life.

I also could not stop thinking about a story someone told at the Arabic church about a woman who was a principal in a low-performing Ft. Worth area school. She got the job, even though she was not as qualified as some of the other candidates. This lady had a vision from God to turn this school around and ultimately win it for Christ. She recruited volunteers from her church to invest in the kids and help with rewards. She tutored before and after school, and got other teachers to do the same. She prayed over the outside of the building, the seats, halls, and classrooms. She had a passion and vision, and God rewarded her as she earnestly sought after him.

I left wanting to be like that woman. I want the kids I work with to succeed, but ultimately I want them each to know Jesus. I was challenged.  I went to Arabic church hoping to gain some insight about my upcoming trip, but I had just how God would use the service to impact my life.

I am going to become more intentional. I pray for the students and faculty each morning on my way to work, but it really hasn’t been a sacrifice. I am committing to going to work  one day a week 30 minutes early to spend time prayer walking the school.

I am going to work at giving more, serving more, and loving more. God has blessed me with an amazing opportunity to impact lives, and I intend to take advantage of it.

The song I mentioned earlier has the line: “The stakes are high/the water’s deep/But this love is ours.”

The stakes are high: (Life eternal with Christ or separate from Him)

The water’s deep: ( People are skeptical, they don’t listen, they have been burned)

But this Love is ours: (And it is our responsibility to share it.)

This week, pray about your influence. God has put you in a place for a reason, and He is always at work. Join Him. I will be praying with you.

Also, pray with me as I seek to influence other for Christ.

 

“And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” Hebrews 11:6(ESV)

With Joy,

Miss Kim

 

Leave a Reply

