10 things I learned from my boys.

Standard

My job is pretty unique in a lot of ways. One of them is the fact that the number of boys I work with is double the amount of girls. 

I kind of enjoy that. 

Don’t get me wrong, I have several close friends that are girls. I am a girly-girl, but I love hanging out with my boys.

They have a different take on life. They are loud, smelly,silly, and they make me laugh constantly. Most of them don’t have any  positive male role models, or anyone who invests in them. 

I have a heart for helping them become the men that I know God desires them to grow up and be. I think someday in the future I would enjoy being a “boy mom.”

I also really desire for them to grow up and know how to treat a woman. (Confession:I may take some of my own relationship frustrations on them at times!)

Lately, we have been working on ways to show respect, owning up to your actions, apologizing, and listening. ( I think in about 15 years, a lot of ladies will be thanking me!) It has been a great joy of mine to see them mold into young men. My prayer for each of them is that they accept Jesus, have a relationship with Him, and become all he wants them to be. I see SO much potential in each of them.

They also teach me A LOT. This morning in my Beth Moore study, I was reading about teachers and how often times we are the ones that get taught. It is so true! 

That being said, I would like to present to you, a KQOTD special event: 10 things I learned from my boys:

(in random order)

1. It’s not just a playground. It’s the Wipeout set, or a real-life version of Call of Duty.

2. Drinking a “suicide” (when you mix all the flavors together), may not taste as good, but it’s a lot more fun to drink than just a Dr. Pepper.  We decided to re-name “suicide” “crazy pop”

3. Sometimes, you just have to let them wrestle.

4. Girls are mysterious and a source of nervousness, no matter what the age.

5. That if anyone ever breaks my heart, at least 4 of them are showing up at their house and  beating him up.

6. That they listen better when they know there will be a cookie at the end.

7.They really want to use manners, you just have to expect them  from them first.

8. That when someone believes in them, they will believe in themselves.

9. They just have to play in the bathroom, even if they get in trouble each time.

10. They aren’t as tough as they think they are. They aren’t as tough society thinks they are either. They are just boys.

 

There are more things, but we will save it for another day. 

Leave a Reply

