meet me where I’m at.

Standard

Today I had an “aha” moment on the floor of a 4th grade classroom.

All morning I had been helping with a writing test,which can almost be torture for a writing/spelling person. Just sitting there while all the mistakes are being made.

After the testing, I had about 20 minutes before I was going to meet my mom for lunch. I was looking forward to getting a few things done, and then I heard the principal asking for me. He wanted me to go down to a room and bring a boy back.

When I got there, I found a classroom of kids laughing at a boy under his desk pretending to be a cat. He was hissing, scratching, meowing, and crawling around. I tried reasoning. I tried getting him to follow me. Nothing was working. I was getting really frustrated.

In a stroke of genius(well, maybe not genius), I took off my necklace and dangled it in front of him, as if I were playing with a cat.

He started to follow. Next thing you know, we made it down the hall. Then, he stood up and decided that he was ready to be a boy again. He just needed that little bit of attention and a change in environment and he was  back to normal.

My school counselor saw part of this and said  ” What class taught you that?”

Well, therapy teaches that you have to meet people where they are at. Instead of yelling at someone to get out of a tree, you get in the tree with them and help them find a way down. You join them right where they are.

You know who else does that? Jesus. He doesn’t expect us to have it all together. He doesn’t reprimand us for the way we are. He accepts us just for exactly who we are, walks with us, and molds us into the person we are meant to be.

That is some pretty amazing truth. Meeting us where we are at. Accepting us for the sinners we are. That is Grace.

Now, I can add “Cat Wrangler” to my specialties.

 “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30 (Message)

Hope you are loving your Wednesday.

With Joy,

Miss Kim

One response »

Leave a Reply

